Driving license classes

We educate:

class B

class B

The classic car driving license

Class BE

Class BE

(Trailers up to 3.5 t permissible total mass)

Class AM

Class AM

Class A12

Class A / A1 / A2



(test certificate)

All information about driving license classes

What driving license classes are there?

A driving school typically offers a variety of classes depending on the laws and regulations of each country. Here are some classes a driving school might typically offer:

  1. Class B (car driving license)
  2. Class A (motorcycle driving license)
  3. Class C (truck driving license)
  4. Class D (bus driving license)
  5. Class BE (trailer driving license)
  6. Class CE (truck driving license with trailer)
  7. Class DE (bus driving license with trailer)
  8. Class T (tractor driving license)
  9. Class L (moped driving license)
  10. Class M (scooter driving license)
  11. Class S (quad driving license)

However, it is important to note that classes and requirements may vary by country and region.

What is the B196 extension?

The B196 extension refers to a special extension to the Class B car driving license introduced in Germany. With this extension, Class B drivers can drive Class A1 motorcycles (light motorcycles) without having to take a separate motorcycle test.

In order to receive the B196 extension, learner drivers must complete a special additional course that includes at least four theory lessons and five practical driving lessons on a motorcycle. In addition, the learner driver must be at least 25 years old and have held a class B car driving license for at least five years.

The B196 extension is intended to make it easier for car drivers to switch to a motorcycle and thus relieve traffic and protect the environment by switching to an alternative means of transport.


Online registration

Fast and non-binding. In just 5 minutes!
en_GBEnglish (UK)

Patrick's driving school

answers quickly

I will be back soon

Hello 👋
Welcome to Patrick's driving school. How can I help you?
Contact now